Political parties in European Parliament

  • Members are divided into groups, not clustered based on their nationality but based on their political affiliation. Today there are 7 political groups in the European Parliament.
  • Each political party shall designate its chairman (or, in some groups, two co-chairs), a bureau and a secretariat.
  • In the Chamber, Members are sitting by political affiliation, from left to right, by agreement between the presidents of the groups.
  • To form a political group at least 25 members are required who must represent at least one quarter of all Member States. Membership in more than one political group is prohibited.
  • Some members do not belong to any political group and in this case they belong to unregistered.